swearing in of Ismail Sabri Yaakob as Prime Minister

Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob sworn in as Malaysia’s 9th Prime Minister

Umno vice-president Ismail Sabri Yaakob was sworn in as Malaysia’s ninth prime minister on Saturday.

Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri is the country’s third premier since the historic 2018 elections, when the Umno-led Barisan Nasional coalition was voted out of power for the first time in 61 years.

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah presided over the 9th Prime Minister’s oath-taking at 2.30pm on Saturday, five days after Tan Sri Mahiaddin Yassin resigned as Prime Minister.


delivering news & information
that matters